Interview with A.M. Willard, Author of Fading Memories

In my interview with romance author, A. M. Willard, I discovered that I am not alone in having characters who have their own ideas about how their story should be written. She has had similar experiences and it turns out she has handled that in much the same way I ended up doing. As you will discover, she had her hands full with the characters from her most recent novel, the contemporary romance, Fading Memories. Fortunately, she survived the experience, retained her sanity and Fading Memories is now available for everyone to relish watching her two wounded characters find their way to one another.

Please welcome A.M. Willard . . .



Q:   What is your favorite romance genre, and why?

A:   My favorite is romantic suspense. I like how it pulls me in and makes me think about what is truly going on in the book. The more I’m on the edge of my seat, the better.

Q:   Is there any romance author you particularly admire, and if so, why?

A:   I love Colleen Hoover. She is my go to author no matter what. It’s so bad that I don’t even have to read the synopsis to buy the book.

Q:   How do you begin thinking about a new story, with the characters or the plot?

A:   I have tons of note books for each series, novel, and ideas. I start with writing down names, appearances, and more as I start the process. I do a slim timeline as they never stick to it, they love to change things up for me and never listen.

Q:   When you craft a hero, are you incorporating traits from men you know, or are you writing about a man you have never met, but would like to?

A:   I think that’s a 50/50. I mean we all have a man in our life that we admire, but we also have that one that we picture in our head.

Q:   When you craft a heroine, is she mostly the real you, the you you wish you were, or is she someone totally different?

A:   The same as my hero. I mean come on I would love to be a total heroine.

Q:   Do you always have control of your characters when you are writing, or do they sometimes get away from you? If so, can you share some examples of how you got them back in line, or did you just go with the flow?

A:   I have zero control over them. I start but they take over and control the story. I used to fight them and try to take control back, but I gave up. It’s easier to let them control the story, as it always ends better.

Q:   Many authors have said that writing the first pages of a new story are the hardest to write. Do you find that to be the case?

A:   No I love writing the first chapter, it’s the start to a new adventure that I can control. The hardest part for me has been the ending. Especially when you have a standalone, and you want the perfect ending. What happens when you just don’t know where to end?

Q:   Did your latest romance just flow as you wrote, was it a battle to capture in words, or something in between?

A:   It was a battle for Fading Memories. The emotions that I need to portray were about to drive me to the nut house.

Q:   When you suffer from writer’s block, how do you unblock?

A:   Ha-ha. You have to love writer’s block. I’ve experienced it once where I just had to walk away from the story and started a brand new series.

Q:   Without spoiling the story for readers, can you share something about your latest romance which is not in the blurb or any available excerpts?

A:   God, that smirk he always gives me … it’s about to drive me nuts. Jumping down from the counter, I decide to do this myself. This is a conversation that needs to be avoided. In the bathroom, I lock the door behind me and locate the peroxide and a bandage. I hike my foot up on the side of the tub and dab the cotton ball onto the small cut. My breath hitches from the sting. Satisfied that they’re clean enough, everything goes back up and I head back out.

Rear view of woman from waist down, in a white dress holding a pair of sandals, with a white beach in the background.

Fading Memories   Blurb

Isabel Nichols’s life changed in more ways than one through the years. As a young child, she experienced a loss that devastated her. It wasn’t until she was an adult that the universe around her shattered. In a twenty-four-hour time frame, she lost what she’d thought was her world. What followed was a year of mourning, a year of grieving, a year of darkness. Now, there’s one man who can show her the light.

Dakota Jackson left his life behind on a whim, moving to a beach cottage away from the big city where he grew up. He sees through Izzie’s clouds as he gets to know her, with the drive to be everything that she’s ever needed. The only problem is, Dakota holds the key to a secret that could ruin both of their hopes and dreams.

Passion isn’t always enough to heal a broken heart; love isn’t always enough to guide you through the darkness.

This is about two souls that were meant to be together from the day they were born. Two people who have to figure out a way to look past the memories. It’s the now; it’s living your life as you’re meant to, loving the one your heart craves. It’s about letting go of the grieving, learning to be who you are, and accepting life for what it is.

Can love cure all things despite its hardships?

Buy Links for Fading Memories:

Amazon
US: http://tinyurl.com/nnwcmhw
UK: http://tinyurl.com/o7b2a83
CA: http://tinyurl.com/q8dksjf
AU: http://tinyurl.com/ncnyxrb

iBooks: http://tinyurl.com/q2esr2e

B & N: http://tinyurl.com/ple95ep


Photo of author, shoulder-length brown hair, brown rimmed glasses and aqua pullover top.



About the Author

A.M. Willard is a true believer of soul mates, and happy ever afters. She enjoys reading, sailing, and of course writing contemporary romance with some saucy scenes. Releasing her first novella of the One Night Series on April 12, 2014 has sent her on a new journey in life. A.M.’s passion for writing started at a young age, but with the love and support from her husband of eighteen years pushed her to follow her dreams. Once she hit that first publish button, she hasn’t looked back.

Publications available from A.M. Willard include the Chances Series, Love on the Screen, and everyone’s favorite, the One Night Series. She’s also had an article published in the Writer’s Monthly Review Magazine and was just accepted into the Romance Writers of America organization in May of 2015.

A.M. Willard was born and raised in the Panhandle of Florida, but resides in Savannah GA with her husband, son, two cats, one rotten dog, and her six chickens. Yes, we said chickens…

You can connect with A.M. Willard on her website at www.amwillard.com or subscribe to her newsletter for the latest releases, teasers, and sale alerts: http://eepurl.com/bb-Cd1

Connect with A.M. Willard online at:

Facebook: http://tinyurl.com/nnx2s8m
Twitter: @AMWillard1 or https://twitter.com/AMWillard1
Pinterest: http://tinyurl.com/nthwdyj
LinkedIn: http://tinyurl.com/q33k33c
Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/na2tw82
Website: www.amwillard.com

