Guest Post at Susana’s Parlour

Susana’s Parlour is a blog published by romance author Susana Ellis, for readers and authors of historical romance. This blog is an interesting mix of articles covering a wide range of historical periods and articles about new historical romance novels. So, if you read or write historical romance novels, you will want to pay a visit to Susana’s Parlour. You are sure to find many articles there which will interest you.

Susana has most kindly invited me into her parlour today. My guest post in her parlour includes a new interview as well as information about my book, Deflowering Daisy. Along with the blurb and a brief excerpt from the book, you will find a secret about an item used by the heroine, Daisy, in the story. I hope you will take a look at my guest post as Susana’s Parlour today.

5 thoughts on “Guest Post at Susana’s Parlour

    • WOW!!! A year’s supply. How convenient! It must take up a lot of space, but at least you don’t have to worry about running out.

      I would not have figured you for a prog rocker, but am glad to know it. I was very disappointed not to be able to get to Britain for Rick Wakeman’s Concert of the Six Wives of Henry VIII at Hampton Court. I found a DVD of it on eBay a few months ago which is better than nothing, but it is just not the same as being there. Though I was able to make his concert of Return to the Centre of the Earth in Canada a few years ago. It was excellent, even though all the narration was in French.

      Something which has really surprised me is that in the past few years, some of my friends with teenage children have exposed them to prog rock, including taking them to concerts, and the kids love it. Who would have guessed? I think that music is definitely standing the test of time.

      =^..^=

      • Our son loves what he calls ‘dad music’ and has also introduced us to the charms of his era music like Nightwish and Poets of the Fall… I couldn’t fancy Khorn, Marilyn Manson or Linkin’ Park though. I like Status Quo too, so some trad rock… I haven’t heard the Six Wives yet. The cat litter came on a pallet, is officially for burning [wood pellets, but all pine and renewable resource and identical to the expensive green-choice litter] and costs half as much as in the pet shop pro rata. What did people use in the regency? ordinary earth? I’ve done that, but oh! the muddy paws…. and the odd dismembered worm… ours like leaf litter outside, so maybe that was an alternative. A cat in London wouldn’t have much earth, sawdust? nobody ever records these things….

        • I must admit I have a hard time with most modern music, it seems thin to me and not very musical. Wakeman first released Six Wives in the 70s. In fact, I think it was his first concept album and well worth a listen. There are six tracks, one for each of Henry’s wives. My favorite track is Catherine Howard, though she is not my favorite of Henry’s actual wives. 😉

          Very clever getting the pine pellets for kitty litter. They do sell pine pellet litter here, in small bags, but apparently it can support growth of fungus in very warm and humid weather. We get that a lot here in the summer, so I go with a dustless clay litter that will not support any life, no matter the climate. I found a place online where I can get it in 40-pound bags for a few bucks less than I was paying for a 25-pound box in the grocery store. And, delivery is free with a purchase of $49.00, which I can make with a dry food and litter purchase.

          In terms of Regency kitty litter, the few comments I have seen from the period suggests they used sand, or a sand and soil mix. But that was only for indoor cats kept as pets. So far as I can tell, nothing was provided for barn cats or those kept as mousers. It seems they were expected to do their business outside. I am actually planning an article on what was used for Regency kitty litter at the Redingote, but other things have gotten in the way. Not to mention that I need to do more research on the subject. I will see what I can do to speed things along.

          =^..^=

          • I think this is oven dried to a temperature to kill anything, as it is destined to be fuel… I shall watch it and see!
            yes, an outdoor cat or barn cat needs no provision, I was thinking of pet cats or shop cats for keeping down the vermin if there’s only a cobbled yard not a dirt yard. No hurry just because I’m the crazy cat lady! Sand for cleaning would be readily available, and I’m thinking so would sawdust from all sorts of carpentry shops, wheelwrights and sawmills not so far out of town as now, And sawdust or straw was the lowtech version of packing beans too, so available from ships unloading, possible a mix of both. Now I’m wondering how you disposed of it.

Comments are closed.